This centuries-old rural complex boasts a truly lovely garden, one in which the essential shapes of a traditional Venetian manor house serve as the backdrop for a composition that reworks and enhances the gentle beauty of the place in a refined and artful way.

Once owned by the de Zorzi family, this site, not far from Sacile, was acquired by the patrician Brandolini-Rota Venetian family in 1780. In the 19th century, Count Guido established an estate here dedicated to winemaking. In the mid-19th century, the estate and its outbuildings were updated to what we see today. The park was bordered by a quadrilateral perimeter wall, with a romantically-inspired turret at each corner. Planting began in the early 20th century, in the Veneto-Friuli area tradition. The villa underwent renovations during the 20th century. In 1963, Count Brando and his wife, Cristiana Agnelli, commissioned English landscape architect Russell Page (1906-1985), the eminent Turin-based family’s trusted garden designer. Page transformed the garden into a romantically-inspired natural park, with some Russian touches at the owners’ behest, generally following 19th-century traditions that enhance the centrality of the house, located to the north, and bolster the compositional role of greenery. In just three years, Page managed to create a sober and elegant park, taking advantage of the garden’s location on a regular flat area almost a hectare in size. To enliven his composition, he inserted a series of groves, creating points of interest that alternate with water features and enhance the visual impact of this ensemble as it nestles in its surrounding rural environment.